You have the ability to control the privacy of your Peloton profile and data in a few ways.
The first is by simply controlling what you share. The only things you need to provide to set up a Peloton account are a username and an email address. Any other fields you populate on your Peloton profile - like your name, gender, location, height, and weight - are optional.
Some of the information you provide is visible on your profile page. Your profile page may contain your username, your profile picture, any tags that you might add, who you follow and who follows you, as well as some information about your workouts, such as how many workouts you’ve taken, metrics for each workout, and any achievements earned. Please note, you will not be able to see if a Member searches or views your Peloton profile.
You can also choose to further limit which Members within your Peloton circle view certain profile and workout information, such as your Strive Score and saved music.
For information on setting your Peloton profile to private, please click here.
Hiding Your Age and Gender
Your decade and gender are public by default and can appear in a few ways.
Birthday: One of the ways we use your birthday is to assign you a “decade” that appears as a filtering option on the Leaderboard. For an example of the decade on the Leaderboard, if you enter a birthday that suggests you are 25, then on the Leaderboard you would be included in the ‘20s’ filter. Members who look at your username in class will also see that you’re in your 20s. If you are taking a class in a Peloton studio on your birthday, then your birthday may be used by the instructor to celebrate you.
Gender: Your gender, if provided, appears on the Leaderboard in the same way as your age decade. Members have the option to filter by gender, and Members who look at your username in class will see your self-identified gender.
If you don’t want your decade or gender to appear, select the option to "Make My Age and Gender Private" in your profile settings. You also have the option to not provide gender to your account.
Private Running Routes
With GPS Tracking for outdoor workouts, you have the ability to allow Peloton to track and display your running routes. Your running routes are set to private by default, which means that only you can see them in your workout history.
If you want to make your running routes viewable to Members, you can do this by unselecting the option labeled “Make My Running Routes Private” in your settings.
Other Data About You
Location: Your location is an optional free form field that you can complete however you like. Your location will be visible for both public or private profiles, and also shows on the Leaderboard.
Height and Weight: Height and weight are optional fields that are used to estimate the number of calories that are burned in a workout. These fields are private and can only be seen by you. They are not visible to other Peloton Members and do not appear on the Leaderboard.
Strive Score and Heart Rate Data: Your Strive Score is a personal, non-competitive feature that tracks how much time you spend in each Heart Rate Zone. Strive Score only works if you connect a Heart Rate Monitor with your device. If you have a Heart Rate Monitor connected, then your Strive Score is collected by default and, along with your Heart Rate Zone, is displayed on the Leaderboard to other Peloton Members who are in the same class as you. Your Heart Rate Zones are also visible in your workout details contained in your profile. Remember, if your profile is private then only Members who you have approved to follow you can view your workout details. If your profile is public, then all Members can view your workout details.
If you don’t want to have your Strive Score tracked, or if you do want to have it tracked but not displayed to other Peloton Members in your class, you can change these settings from your Bike or Tread tablet. Tap on your username in the lower left-hand corner of your screen. Next, tap on ‘Preferences.’ Underneath the ‘Strive Score’ section, you have the option to uncheck the box to ‘Track and Display Strive Score’ and the option to check 'Hide my Strive Score and heart rate zones from others in class.' You can still pair a Heart Rate Monitor with your device even if you decide that you don’t want to utilise the Strive Score feature. If you do this, your heart rate data appears on your tablet screen during your workout, and your Heart Rate Zones also appear in the details of each workout within your profile.
Tags: Tags provide a way for you to connect with other Members and build a community based on shared interests or identities. You can create your own tags, search for tags that others have created, and filter by tags on the Leaderboard. Tags are completely optional and are public. This means that they are visible for public or private profiles, and also show up on the Leaderboard.
Liked tracks: You have the ability to ‘Like’ tracks that you hear during workouts, and if you link your Spotify® or Apple® Music account to your Peloton account, the liked tracks will be saved to your Peloton Playlist on Spotify® or Apple® Music. Who can see your liked tracks is dependent on how you’ve set up your profile. If your profile is private, only Members who follow you can see your liked tracks. If your profile is public, all Members can see your liked tracks.
If you don’t want anyone to view your liked tracks, followers, or non-followers, you can change your settings on your Bike or Tread tablet. Tap on your username in the lower left-hand corner of your screen. Next, tap on ‘Privacy’ on the left side of the screen. Lastly, tap the toggle next to ‘Anyone that can view my profile ’ to turn the setting off or tap 'Only Me.'
Leaderboard: If you’ve opted to make your profile private, certain data will not be available via the Leaderboard to Members who are not following you. If a non-follower clicks on your name, the only stats available will be your current rank and total output in the class.
View of a Public Profile:
View of a Private Profile: