The Peloton bike arrives from the factory in new and ready-to-use condition. We recommend factory resetting your touchscreen for any of the following reasons:
- If you sell your bike
- If your touchscreen is repeatedly crashing during rides
- If you cannot access the Settings menu
- If you have completed all other offered troubleshooting steps and are still encountering an issue
When you factory reset your device, you will remove all user-entered information, including your membership, your wireless login, any changes made to your device settings, and the Peloton app itself. All your user information will be restored once you sign back into the Peloton app.
To factory reset your touchscreen:
- Power off your touchscreen by holding the power button on top and selecting “Shutdown.”
- Once the touchscreen is powered off, hold the Volume Up button and the power button until the Peloton logo appears, at that point you can let go. This will start your touchscreen in Recovery Mode.
- Use the volume buttons to navigate to “wipe [all user] data/factory reset” and use the power button to select it.
- Confirm by selecting “Yes -- delete all user data.”
- Once the data has been wiped, select “reboot system now.”
Once the screen restarts, you will be asked to sign into your wireless network and the most recent version of the Peloton app will be automatically downloaded. Follow the normal login procedures to get back up and riding.